Getting in the long run before work

I pretty much always do my long runs on Saturday.  It works well for me, especially since I am super cool and usually end up in bed by 10pm on Friday nights.

But this weekend, I am going to a friend’s house in New Jersey to soak up the last of the beach time while we can.  I plan to spend a lot of time laying in the sun, day-drinking, sleeping and celebrating my friend’s birthday. 

So clearly, I will be very busy and needed to get in my long run before the weekend.

I am just about to the point in training where getting in a pre-work long run is out of the question (unless I wake up at 3am) but I managed to squeeze it in this morning.

I was up at the crack of dawn.  Immediately when my alarm went off, I tried to talk myself out of it.  But I knew there was now way that I would be able to run in New Jersey (especially since none of the friends I will be with are runners, and I don’t know the area at all), so I told myself to get over it.  I downed some coffee and ate a bit of breakfast.

I actually headed to the gym for the first portion of my run.  I try to never do long runs on the treadmill, but it was 5am and very dark.  I also have been feeling the slightest bit of injury coming on in my knees, so I wanted to run on the more forgiving treadmill for a bit.

I did 6.5 miles on the treadmill.  One thing I’ve been working on is keeping my long runs at a bit of a slower pace so that I don’t burn out and want to kill myself.  So I kept at about a 9:30/9:40 pace on the treadmill.

Then I headed for the park where I did about 7 miles.  I had my Garmin but I am lazy and haven’t uploaded the splits yet. 

As always, I went a bit fast in the beginning and ran the first mile in about 8:50, but I managaed to slow down keep the other miles around the 9:40 pace. 

It was hard, but manageable.  I could definitely feel the distance in my legs by the end. And, I was dripping sweat when I got home, which is always the sign of a good workout.

Central park was especialy full of bikers today.  There was some sort of race going on for them, and that always makes the park more alive and fun for running. 

I got back to my apartment with just enough time to shower, eat and get out the door for work.  And of course, I had some of my favorite post-run snack:

 
chocolate milk!

I think from now on, I’ll have to keep my long runs on the weekend.  But for this week, I am so glad I got it done, because now I can go enjoy the weekend without that hanging over my head. 

On a compltely unrelated note, I was wrong about pumpkin spice lattes being back on September 1st. Oops. Apparently they will arrive post-labor day weekend.  Mark your calendars!

I hope everyone enjoys the long weekend!

 
 
Leave a Reply

