Things I love about fall

Well hello there.

I am back from the beach, where I spent two glorious days soaking up the sun.  We were lucky to have great beach weather.  It was hot and sunny, but there was also a fantastic breeze so we didn’t ever get overheated.

I didn’t want it to end.  It was almost like you could feel fall coming and knew these were the last moments of summer.

That means the end of long days, the end of warm summer nights, and the end of beach weekends.

But, fall is easily my favorite season, so it also got me feeling pretty excited about the next few months.  Here are my absolute favorite things about fall:

  1. Football
  2. Colorful leaves
  3. Pumpkin flavored everything – bread, lattes, beer…
  4. Cozy sweaters
  5. Scarves and boots
  6. The return of good TV
  7. Not sweating profusely by the time you get to work
  8. Apple picking
  9. Pumpkin picking
  10. The holiday season (or at least the beginnings of it!)

That list makes me pretty ready to say goodbye to summer.

Another key thing to look foward to during fall is this impending marathon.  It is stil strange for me to say that I am might just run a marathon, but now that its September, I feel like it is much sooner and much more real.

That is scary.  And awesome.  But mostly scary.

I know that now I am going to have to really commit to training.  After I spent the past two days drinking and sleeping on the beach, this morning’s run was not the easiest.

I did about 4.5 miles, but they felt like they were at least double that.  They were pretty slow and I was more tired than I would like to be after 4.5 miles.  Totally a good sign, I know.  But thats ok, I will get back in the groove soon.

Until then, I am going to think more about what I love about fall and try to stay dry in this rainy east coast weather.

I hope everyone had a great Labor Day weekend!

Leave a Reply

