New distance record

I have been a little MIA on this whole blog thing. It’s been a crazy work week, and my parents were in town this weekend, so I have been pretty busy.  Buuuut now things have finally slowed down a bit, so here I am 🙂

To fill everyone in, I ran 16 miles yesterday.  Just a typical Saturday morning. No big deal.

Ok, so it was totally a big deal.  I was up at 5am (on Saturday morning!) and out the door by 6:15.  I had a lot planned with my parents so I really wanted to get it finished early.

I know that I ran 15 miles last week, but I stopped quite a few times during that run to get water, take pictures, look around aimlessly….

But, I didn’t stop once yesterday.  It was gloriously crisp and humidity free in the Park, so I didn’t need to refill my water bottle at all.  And honestly, every time I stop its harder to start again, and I really didn’t want that to happen.

So, I just kept going.  For 16 miles.  My splits are below:

Again like last week, this is really slow for me.  It’s hard to look at these and feel satisfied with my pace, but I am not trying to race my long runs.  I just need to get used to the longer distances.

And like I have said many times before, I am not running this marathon with any sort of speed in mind.  I just want to finish.  But, its often hard to turn off the competitor in me that wants to run full speed ahead every time I am out there.

So even though I can’t help but want to improve on these splits, I am still pretty satisfied that I was able to get out there and run the 16 miles completely.  It gave me a bit more confidence that this whole marathon thing may actually be attainable.

And now it’s time to catch up on a bunch of fun things like laundry and cleaning.  But luckily, football season is upon us, so I will have plenty of entertainment.

How do you guys pace long runs? Do you care more about time or distance?

Leave a Reply

