Confession: I don’t hate the treadmill

Greetings from Chicago!

I am here for work and have been super busy, but Chicago is one of my favorite cities in the world, so I am happy to be here.

The weather, unsurprisingly, has not been all that great.  It was rainy with crazy winds yesterday and the day before, causing the city to close much of the lake front path.  So that kinda ruined my plans for running there.

Instead, I decided to hit up the hotel gym.

Treadmills and more treadmills at my hotel's gym

But, as I said, I actually don’t hate the treadmill. Many runners think treadmills are boring and a terrible substitute for the real thing.  While that may be true, I don’t think they are always bad.  Especially when there is a TV.

So I have been spending these past 2 days logging the miles on the treadmill.  On Wednesday I did about 5.5 miles with intervals of sprints, and yesterday I did 8 at a steady pace.  My legs were still feeling a bit stiff, but pretty good overall.

But after 2 days of running indoors, I am definitely ready to actually venture into the fresh air this weekend.  The weather is supposed to clear up, so I can’t wait to finally run by the lake front.

Until then, I will be stuck inside at a conference.  I have to get going now or I will be late, but hopefully I have more blog-worthy content this weekend.  Enjoy your Fridays!

One thought on “Confession: I don’t hate the treadmill

Leave a Reply

