17 Lakefront miles

Well, the weather certainly cleared up here in Chicago.  Yesterday was absolutely beautiful, and I was so excited to have the chance to run along the lakefront trail.

For the first time, I actually did my long run in the afternoon.  I still had work stuff to do yesterday morning, but I had all afternoon free so I decided to get the run in then.   And it was absolutely perfect.

See? Perfect.

I headed north on the path for 8.5 miles before turning around.  It took everything in me to not run 10 miles on the way out.  I knew that I could push through and get there, but I am still having some weird pains in one ankle, and I really really don’t want to injure myself.

My pace, though slow, was very consistent.  And I actually managed to negative split, or run faster during the last miles of the run.  My average pace overall was about 10:05.  Like I said, not fast.

But I felt strong and it was consistent (except when I stopped to take multiple pictures). And like I have said many times, my long runs are not meant for speedwork.

Here are some photos of the scenery yesterday:

Pretty fall leaves

Downtown Chicago

It’s pretty strange that I spent almost 3 hours of my free time on a run instead of shopping or visiting a museum.  But this run was reassuring, which is exactly what I needed.  I am finally getting more confident that I may actually be able to complete a marathon.

Until then, I will leave you with an awkward self picture:

Totally awkward.

I may or may not have been called out by another runner when I was taking this.  You are welcome.

🙂

3 thoughts on “17 Lakefront miles

  1. Hi Megan!
    Great job. I love reading your entries. Photos are a definate bonus. Keep up the good work. When is your marathon?
    XOXO,
    Aunt Corby

Leave a Reply

