What do you think about while running?

I often get asked what I think about while I am running.  Doesn’t it get boring?

The short answer is no.  Not really.  My mind finds all sorts of things to think about.  In fact, this morning as I covered about 7.5 miles, I spent a good long time thinking about what I think about running.

I think about how far I have gone and how far I have left to go.  I try to find a way to cut the run short.  I think about how I can squeeze in extra miles.  I think about my day.  I think about the other runners.  I think about changing my Pandora station. I think about the weather.

I think about November 20th.

Sometimes, what I see during my run can influence what I think about for a while.  For example, when I see this building:

Good morning, Met Museum

I tend to think about how I have really been meaning to come visit for a while.  Isn’t there a new exhibit that I have been wanting to see?  I will come check soon.  I swear.  It’s so close.  I really loved my art history classes in college.  What was that professor’s name again?  I should have taken more art history classes.

And so on.  You get the picture.

There is also a very special thing that happens sometimes during a run where I think about nothing. It becomes just about running and breathing and moving, and those are the most peaceful times.

So, to answer the question – I think about everything.  Also: I think about nothing.

But for now I have to get going to work.  My apologies for the super short posts recently. Enjoy your Tuesdays!

2 thoughts on “What do you think about while running?

  1. I’m the same way when running. My mind just kind of goes where it wants to. Sometimes, I’ll go out with the intention of wanting to think about a situation and problem and then next thing you know, I’m day dreaming about a new pair of boots.

Leave a Reply

