The Home Stretch

In exactly one week from today, I will be finished running a marathon.  That’s insane.

This whole marathon thing is a really big deal, and I have actually been forcing myself to acknowledge that.  I have this bad habit of downplaying these types of accomplishments. But only when they are happening to me.  I tend to brush off compliments, and I have only recently gotten good at talking about it out loud.

I don’t really know why I do this.  It probably comes from some deep fear of failure, because talking about something out loud means I might mess it up.  But honestly, I also don’t want to think about it too much.  In some ways, ignorance is bliss.  If I am guilty of anything, it can be getting into my own head, so thinking about how the hell I am going to run 26.2 miles may not be the smartest idea.

The point is,  I am really working on acknowledging the huge feat that will occur next week without freaking myself out so much that I won’t be able to do it.  I sound totally sane, right?

So anywayyyyy, as far as physical preparation goes, I am in the home stretch of tapering.  I ran 8 miles yesterday, and this week will only consist of a few short runs before the Big One on Sunday. I ran in Central Park and it was beautiful, but that’s nothing new.  And I completely forgot to take picture.  Again, nothing new.  (In fact, I have been having a hard time uploading pictures in general to wordpress, so this post is really really lacking on that front.  My bad.)

My legs have been tired and stiff recently, but from everything I have heard, that is a good thing.  I will let you know next Monday if that’s true or not.

My main focus this week will be sleeping and stretching and hydrating.  And of course, making important decisions like my race day outfit and how many courses I will be ordering for my post-marathon brunch (currently I am thinking somewhere between 3 and 11).  Yesterday I picked up this little gem for my pre-race throwaway sweatshirt:

I am going to have a hard time letting go of this one.

4 thoughts on “The Home Stretch

  1. Go Megan. I am sure you will do great! You are a winner no matter the outcome!!
    We Love You ~ XOXO from Colorado
    Aunt Corby

  2. Pingback: 2011 Philadelphia Marathon Race Recap | Megan's Mileage

Leave a Reply

