So….Now What?

Well, hello there.  It’s been a while.

I hope you all had a fantastic Thanksgiving. I spent mine eating and shopping and drinking in Chicago with my family.  It was glorious.

You know what else was nice? Not running. Not once. My body needed the time to heal, and honestly, so did my mind.  As it turns out, the marathon really did a number on me, in more ways than one.  But feasting with your family is a great way to recuperate from such an event. I must say, the Philly marathon was very well timed with Thankgiving coming directly in the recovery period.

Oh hayyy, marathon photo. Do I look in pain? Yeah I was. (Also: this photo is totally not stolen. Not at all.)

There was a time when I was tempted to run on the lakefront, especially becuase I enjoyed my run there so much last time, but I wanted to a break from running to the point where I missed it.

I got back to New York on Sunday and decided to test out my legs a little.  I ended up going to the gym and cheating by running on the treadmill.  I covered only about 4 miles, and though I could still feel the marathon, it felt pretty good.

And this morning, I actually ventured back into Central Park.  I left my Garmin at home and just ran based on how I felt, so I think I covered about 4.5 or 5 miles.  I was certainly not in top shape, but it felt really good to be out there.

So now that I am (pretty much) fully recovered, what’s next?

I have no idea.

In many ways, I am excited that I don’t have a race on the agenda.  It will give me the chance to switch up my workouts a little more and get back to spinning and strength training and all that good stuff that I completely neglected the past few months.

But also, I really don’t like not having a plan.  It is much easier to get up and train every day when there is a goal in mind.

So, I am on the lookout for my next race.  It will not be a marathon.  One thing I know I want to work on is speed, because the marathon slowed me down.  A lot.

I do know, however, that there will be another marathon in my future.  I don’t know when it will be, and I know it won’t be soon, but I will finish 26.2 again at some point.

The official evidence that I did, in fact, finish a marathon.

And hopefully during that race, I do not start puking at mile 14.

3 thoughts on “So….Now What?

Leave a Reply

